This is something I’ve railed against for some time now, the condemnation of action/adventure movies released in theaters. In the last week I watched Priest and Jonah Hex. Neither would qualify as a fine film, but I’d bet if you have any interest at all in seeing them you already know you will enjoy the end result.
It’s all about setting proper expectations. Don’t go to Laura Schwartzbaum of EW for your Conan review. The title was probably enough to turn her off. And maybe she was wise enough not to watch Conan.
The point is reviewers should stick with genres they can relate to. All the garbage about Priest being a re-hash of Road Warrior and severeal other movies is ridiculous, and frankly in my mind a recommendation.
I feel jilted that critics who don’t actually enjoy the brainless action thrillers I do manage to keep me from going to the theater. Most of what I’ve seen this year has been in my home theater, with headphones on so I don’t wake the family. Much less expensive, yes, but I don’t get to drive home afterward at a very dangerous and death-defying 10 mph over the speed limit. You know the feeling. That temporary rush you feel after being blasted by the big screen.
My advice to the critics? Go see films in your wheelhouse. You may not understand that 90 minutes of pure escapism is just what I need after a long day, week, or month. I do, however, and the people who signed on to make that roaring ride of senseless mayhem do too.

About D R Sanford

I am an author. My stories center around ancient, heroic folklore re-born for the modern thriller audience.

Leave a comment