Feeling the need to deliver on my Kickstarter promise of late July, I printed 50 books right away. All of the pre-orders have been sent out or hand-delivered. A good number more have found new homes. At the moment I’m sitting on only 6 copies from the first printing. With one word change and the hopeful inclusion of my expected logo for Bard’s Tale Press I will print another 50 for the second edition. Comments have been positive, and that’s great, because the real goal here was to get a full-fledged story down on paper and share it with others in the hopes that I could entertain.
I have an opportunity to meet with local High School students and faculty this week, speaking about my journey to self-publish. It’s exciting to pass on the knowledge that the once significant roadblocks to becoming published are no longer a good excuse to hold back your dreams or abilities.
As I put together the simple steps of publishing one’s work I will post it here.
Now, how to engage students with my story about Cullen and the Megalith adversary? FREEFALL is really in the adult fiction genre. But, a number of the characters have back stories that would develop in the Young Adult genre. I hope to share a few ideas with students and plan to invite them to take part in a self-publishing project, a novella or series of short stories that students can collaborate on.

About D R Sanford

I am an author. My stories center around ancient, heroic folklore re-born for the modern thriller audience.

Leave a comment