No, I did not receive a Lexus for Christmas this year.
I have learned a good deal about e-book marketing, though. I think when you’re being squashed at the bottom of the totem pole of publishingdom where I am you have to take some chances.
How many e-books did I sell at $2.99 from September through November? Three. Yep, three.
During three promotional days on Kindle select in December? Over Eleven Hundred. Yes I’m going to capitalize those.
Somewhere around thirty were paid at $.99 each, earning me a royalty payout of at least ten dollars in March.
But holy jumpin jackrabbits playing purple kazoos. Elven hundred more people may get around to reading my book sometime in the next year, and some of them may write a favorable review. And some may come back for more when the next book comes out.
On that note, I’m happy to say the outline for book two is almost in the bag. I’ll soon be churning out scenes once more, and I really like the feel of the FREEFALL’s follow-up. A straight-forward adventure with twists, turns, and discovery.
What else has December given me? The glorious rapture of seeing the holidays through my children’s eyes as well as the infinite frustration of keeping guiding them towards the nice list.
Interludes with family and friends that we don’t see often enough, the reminder that time is precious and blessings are many.
2011 was another great year. Hello 2012, here I come.

About D R Sanford

I am an author. My stories center around ancient, heroic folklore re-born for the modern thriller audience.

2 responses »

  1. haven’t read your books but congrats on the fun numbers. enjoy the journey…. always, T

Leave a comment